Navy League Memphis
Contact Us at (901) 489-1741

Proudly Supporting Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Units in the Mid-South


Support Your Local Sea Service Units - Join Navy League Memphis Today!

Click on "Membership Application" Above

Navy League Memphis Spring Awards Dinner at Memphis Country Club

Thur, April 17, 2014

The Navy League Memphis 2014 Spring Awards Banquet will be held once again at the Memphis Country Club on Thursday, April 17, 2014


Guest Speaker:
Dave Steindl
               Rear Admiral, United States Navy
Commander, Navy Personnel Command
      Deputy Chief of Naval Personnel
Navy Brass Quintet



All the Sailors of the Year from NSA MidSouth,  the Marine of the Year from the Marine Corps Reserve Center in Memphis, and the Coast Guardsman of the Year from CG Sector Lower Mississippi River, as well as the Spring awardees from the Navy ROTC units at the University of Memphis and Ole Miss will be recognized.


RDML Steindl will officiate during the distribution of awards as we saluted the "best of the best" in the Mid-South.


Over 100 military guests and Navy League members, and family members of the awardees, are anticipated to attend the annual gala.    Below are photographs of the last year's event and the awardees.


For formal invitations, or for more info, call Candy Rose at 683-5350.



Navy League Memphis Sea Cadet Color Guard (USS Tennessee, BB43 Unit) presents colors during the singing of the National Anthem...


NL Memphis Council President Jim McCullough welcomes attendees and awardees.

Marines from Marine Corps Reserve Unit Memphis, and the Universities of Memphis and Ole Miss observe a presentation.

RDML Cindy Covell and husband Jim observe the festivities

RDML Gay commending the superb accomplishments of the awardees.

MIDN 3/C Courtney-Marie Laureys of the University of Mississippi NROTCU receives the Midshipman of the Semester Award from RDML Gay with CAPT Brad Mai, unit CO, looking on.

MIDN 3/C Clara Barnes of the University of Memphis NROTCU receives the Midshipman of the Semester Award from RDML Gay.  MIDN Barnes was also a Scholarship Awardee for the Spring semester.

MIDN 4/C Michael Parker is recognized as a University of Memphis Spring Scholarship Awardee by RDML Gay.

MIDN 1/C Preston Beazley (Marine Option) is awarded the coveted Marine Corps Officer's Sword as the Honor Graduate for the University of Memphis 2013 Spring Semester.   

GYSGT Michael Flanagan of the University of Mississippi also received the Marine Corps Officer's Sword as the Honor Graduate for the University of Mississippi 2013 Spring Semester. 

Musician 2nd Class Daniel Crabtree of Navy Band MidSouth receives the Lone Sailor statuette as the NSA MidSouth Junior Sailor of the Year for 2012.    RDML Cindy Covell (r), Commander, Navy Personnel Command, parent command of the Band, presides as LTJG Kelly Cartwright (l), band Officer-in-Charge, and Crabtree's wife Kayla look on.